Monday, 29 December 2008

Lateral Water Hazards

In my blog entry for 24th November I included a short video explaining the options available to players when their ball comes to rest in a water hazard (yellow stakes and/or lines). In this follow-up video I explain the additional two options that are available under Rule 26-1c when a ball comes to rest within the margins of a lateral water hazard (red stakes and/or lines).


video

You cannot play golf for very long before you will need to take relief from a water hazard or a lateral water hazard. Make sure that you understand what relief options are available so that you will minimise the consequences.

Enjoy your golf more by understanding the Rules better.

Barry Rhodes
rules@barryrhodes.com

5 comments:

jpatota said...

Barry-

Thanks for taking the time to explain the options if your ball ends up in a Lateral Water Hazard. I've been playing golf for 20 years and never really understood the differance between yellow and red stakes.

John

http://pinehurstgolf.blogspot.com/

Curtis Fisher said...

Barry,
Can you please clear up this issue with red stakes, is it just 2 club lengths when dropping or can you go as far back keeping pin/point in line?

Thanks Curtis

Barry Rhodes said...

Curtis,

I recommend that you view the video above, which explains the 5 options for relief from lateral water hazards. Dropping a ball within two club-lengths of where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard and dropping a ball on an extension of the line from the hole through where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard are two of the options under Rule 26-1.

Barry

mooredan said...

Are there situations in which it would be impossible to exercise the two club lengths option on a lateral water hazard?

What about this situation? There is a lateral water hazard on the right side of the green and you make a stroke from a green-side bunker on the left side. The shot goes over the green and into the lateral water hazard.

The lateral water hazard is marked such that it "wraps around" the green to where there is not any point from where the ball last crossed the margin (and within two club lengths of that point) that is no closer to the point where is crossed. (I hope that you understand).

...and dropping the ball behind the lateral water hazard is impractical.

Isn't the only option available is to drop in the bunker and try again?

I'll draw a picture if you want it.

Thanks,

Dan

It seems to me that

Barry Rhodes said...

Dan,

Yes, there are indeed situations where it may often be impossible/impractical to drop within two clublengths of the point where the ball last crossed the margin of a lateral hazard. In these cases the player must choose one of the other three options that are available in Rule 26-1a, b and c.

If the options b and c are not practical in the circumstances that you describe then going back to the bunker is indeed the only way to proceed.

Barry