Sunday, 26 July 2009

What's the Ruling on this Hole-in-One

Leif Olson scored an improbable hole-in-one at the rain saturated Canadian Open in Ontario yesterday, 25th July.

Watch this video to see his tee shot cannon off his fellow competitor’s ball already at rest on the putting green and then check out the ruling below.
This was certainly a legitimate hole-in-one. The relevant Rule is;
19-5 Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped by Another Ball
a. At Rest
If a player's ball in motion after a stroke is deflected or stopped by a ball in play and at rest, the player must play his ball as it lies. In match play, there is no penalty. In stroke play, there is no penalty, unless both balls lay on the putting green prior to the stroke, in which case the player incurs a penalty of two strokes.
Olson’s ball was deflected by a ball already at rest on the putting green. If it had bounced off that ball into water in a water hazard the luck would have been against him and he would have to choose one of the options for relief under Rule 26-1, incurring a penalty of one stroke. As his ball rolled straight into the hole the luck was with him and he scored a hole-in-one. Of course, the ball that was moved by Olson’s ball was in play and must therefore be replaced where it was previously at rest (Rule 18-5).

Know the Rules to improve your golf,

Barry Rhodes
Author of ‘999 Questions on the Rules of Golf’
999Q on Twitter

P.S. You can ensure that you don’t miss any of my weekly blogs on the Rules by entering your email address at the top right hand corner of my home page.

No comments: