Saturday, 22 August 2009

Errata - '999 Questions on the Rules of Golf'

I am extremely grateful to those who have recommended changes to the first edition of ‘999 Questions on the Rules of Golf’ to help clarify, and in a few cases correct, my questions, answers and explanations. In particular, UK-based, Rules enthusiast, David Cladingboel, was most helpful. Of course, these changes will be incorporated in future reprints of the book.

Barry Rhodes
September 2009

-----------------------------

Errata last updated: 7th January, 2011

Amended 7th January 2011 (G2 reprint)
Q.6: Replace Rule “24-1” with Rule “24-2”.

Q.35: At the start of Note change the first word “A” to, “In most cases a” and add a new sentence at the end, “However, it is important to note that there are three exceptions listed in Rule 20-2c(vii).”

Q.50: In the second line of the Question remove the word “putting”.

Amended 7th July 2011 (G2 reprint)
Q.81: After the 4th word of the Question, "touches", add "the course side of a white", and change the Note to "A ball is not out of bounds when any of it is on, or overhangs the course,")

Q.114: In the last sentence of the Answer change “…may be removed” to “…may not be removed”.

Amended 20th October 2010 (G2 reprint)

Q.217: From the Note remove the words “if the ball does not lie in or on the obstruction.”

Amended 20th October 2010 (G2 reprint)

Q.270: From the Question remove “and is about to drop the ball over his shoulder behind him when his caddie says that he will be penalised if he continues in that manner.” and replace with “drops the ball over his shoulder and addresses his ball when his caddie says that he will be penalised if he makes the stroke.”

Q.249: Add the word “Rule” after the Answer and before “17-3.

Q.284: In the answer change “…penalty of two strokes” to “…penalty of one stroke” (N.B. This has already been corrected in some books).

Q.299: Add the word “free” before the word “relief” in the four question options A), B), C) and D) and also to the Answer C).

Q.304: In the last line of the Answer add, “and playing out the hole” after “…the correct spot”.

Q.325: Change the first line of the Question from “Which of the following is an obstruction?” to “Which of the following is defined as an obstruction in the Rules of Golf?”.

Q.358: In the Note Change “Rule 13-02” to “Rule 13-2”.

Q.382: Change the Answer from “True. Rule 2-4” to “False. Decision 2-4/9”; change the Note from “Once the concession has been made it cannot be withdrawn” to “Callum had already lost the hole before Stuart conceded it to him (Rule 15-3a)”.

Q.415: In the first line of the Note remove the word “also” between “…ball might” and “outside the”.

Q.426: In the Question change “V Par” to “Vs Par”.

Q.435: In the first line of the question remove “resting on his ball” and replace with “hovering close to his ball”

Q.502: In the final sentence of the Note change “Ella incurs a penalty of loss of hole in match play or two strokes in stroke play.” To “Ella incurs a penalty of one stroke in either match play or stroke play.”

Amended 23rd November 2010 (G2 reprint)
Q.534: In the Question add, “to identify that a ball is his,” after “In match play”.

Q.558: In the Answer add the word “in” four words from the end.

Q.572: In the third line of the Question change “initialise” to “initial”.

Amended 23rd November 2010 (G2 reprint)
Q.614: In the Question add the word “accidentally” after “While in a hazard Zak”.

Q.619: In the Note, after “….or lie of his ball,” add “the area of intended stance or swing, or his line of play,” and remove the final sentence commencing “In other words….”.

Q.642: Remove the whole Q&A and Note and replace with;
Roger has been searching for his ball for three minutes when play is suspended. How much time is he allowed for further search when play resumes?
A) Five minutes.
B) Two minutes, providing he does not continue searching during the suspension of play.
C) Two minutes, even if he continues searching during the suspension of play.
D) No additional time, as the player could have been searching for his ball during the suspension of play.
Answer: B) Two minutes, providing he does not continue searching during the suspension of play. Decision 27/1.5.
Note: The suspension of play has no effect on the five-minute search period. So, even if Roger continues searching for his ball during the suspension of play, he is still only permitted a total of five minutes.

Q.650: In the questions A), B), C), D) and the Answer C) change the word “may” to “must”.

Q.655: Remove the whole Note and replace with, “Note: If it were match play Farrell has the option of replaying her stroke without penalty, or playing the ball as it lies under penalty of one stroke, as her ball had struck her own trolley.”

Q.665: Delete option B) of the Question and replace with “B) A player may exchange his ball with a different ball once he has declared it unplayable.”

Amended December 31st, 2010 (G" reprint)
Q.701: In the second line of the Note replace "opponent" with "player's caddie".

Q.714: Remove the whole Q&A and Note and replace with;
"A ball used by a player during his play of a hole is equipment when it has been lifted and not put back into play at that hole. True or False?
Answer: True. Definition of Equipment.
Note: A note to the definition confirms that a ball played at the hole being played is equipment when it has been lifted and not put back into play."

Q.715: In the Note add the words “so the stroke is cancelled” between “…outside agency” and “and the ball…”.

Q.740: Change the 5th word, “competitor” to “opponent”.

Q.762: Change the first words, “In a foursome competition Jan and Judy” to “Foursome partners, Jan and Judy,”

Q.772: Add to the Note before the final period “, except when the ball is in a water hazard or lateral water hazard”.

Q.774: In the third line of the Question change “Rule 28a” to “Rule 28c”. (N.B. This has already been corrected in some books).

Q.778: Change the Answer from “KK is disqualified.” to “KK incurs a penalty of four strokes.”; change the second sentence of the Note from “It does not matter that the non-conforming club was not used during the round the disqualification penalty still applies” to “The penalty in stroke play is two strokes for any hole at which the breach occurred, with a maximum penalty per round of four strokes. If KK had used the non-conforming club he would have been disqualified.” (N.B. This has already been corrected in some books).

Q.782: Replace the word “wrong” with the word “substituted” in all three occurrences, once in the question, once in the answer and once in the note.

Q.788: Remove the 1st sentence of the Question and replace with “During the 1st hole of a match Peggy has her daughter carrying her golf bag and her husband cleaning her ball, holding her glove and umbrella, assisting her to line up her putt and attending the flagstick.”

Q.791: Remove “If an opponent or his caddie, lifts a player’s ball without authority he incurs…” with “In match play, if a player or his caddie lifts an opponent’s ball without authority, the player incurs….”. Also, add “in stroke play” between “including a fellow competitor” and “, there is no penalty...”.

Q.800: After the first three words of the Question. “In match play,” add “through the green,”; at the start of the Note remove “The” and add “Through the green the”.

Q.812: Change the wording of the whole Question, Answer and Note as follows; “In a strokes competition, Roger wrongly thought that he could take relief for an embedded ball in the rough, picked up his ball, cleaned it and dropped it at the nearest point to where it was embedded. After completing his round he and his marker signed for his score and he returned the score card, which did not include the penalty. Before the competition closed the error was brought to the attention of the Committee. How should they rule?
Answer: The Committee must disqualify Roger as by omitting a penalty incurred he has returned a card with a score lower than it should have been. Rule 6-6d.
Note: Rule 6-6c does not permit any alteration of the score card after it has been returned to the Committee, and this includes any alteration by the Committee themselves.”

Q.818: Remove the Note and replace with “Chris may smooth sand or soil in the hazard, providing nothing is done to improve the position or lie of his ball, the area of intended stance or swing, or his line of play, with respect to his next stroke.”

Q.887: In the first sentence of the Question replace “Sarah notices” with “Adrienne notices” and then later in the same sentence “Adrienne’s line” with “Sarah’s line”. At the end of the first line of the Note remove Adrienne’s ball” with “Sarah’s ball”.


Amended 10th March 2011 (G2 reprint)
Q.899: Remove the third word, "lying".

Q.913: Remove “Rule 13-4 and Decision 1-4/12” and replace with “Decision 13-4/0.5”; remove the first two sentences of the Note and replace with this sentence, “Hilary’s digging into the sand with her feet several yards from where her ball lies to simulate her stance does not constitute testing the condition of the bunker, but her caddie smoothing her footprints by raking does.” Also, change the start of the second sentence of the Note from “Hilary plays four...” to “Hilary played four...”.

Q.919: Remove "Decision 7-1b/5" with "Decision 6-4/8."

Q.938: Remove the whole of the Note and replace with “Borrowing a club that has been selected for play by any other person on the course is not permitted. James incurs a penalty of two strokes for each hole at which any breach occurred with a maximum penalty per round of four strokes.”
 
Amended 21st February 2011 (G2 reprint)
Q.939: Remove the whole of the Note and replace with “When Sheila had her fresh air her ball was in play. By pushing her tee further into the ground, she moved the ball, incurring a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2a and was required by that Rule to replace it. However, when she made her next stroke at the ball without replacing it, she effectively played under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1a) overriding the penalty of one stroke. Her next stroke from the tee was her third.”

Q.945: In option C) remove the end phrase “choose one of the options for relief as per Rule 28.” and replace with “proceed in accordance with Rule 28.”

Q.946: At the end of the last sentence of the Question after “…Barak lie” add “if he finds his original ball”; at the end of the Note after “…another ball” add “,which would be his 5th stroke”

Q.947: At the start of the Question add “Having addressed his ball” before “Chip”.

Q.962: At the end of the first sentence in the Question remove “as he makes a stroke at his own ball”. Also, change the 5th word of the Note from “agent” to “agency”.

Q.969: In the first sentence of the question remove “putting” from between “…through the” and “green”.

Q.974: In Option C) change the 2nd word from “must” to “may”. Also, remove option D) and replace with “Robin must play out the hole with both balls and report the situation to the Committee.”

Q.979: At the end of option C) remove “a wrong ball” and replace with “an incorrectly substituted ball”; make the same change in the Answer; in the Note insert “, under Rule 18,” after “…substituting a ball”.

Q.997: In the first word of option D) remove “Replace” and insert “Place”; repeat the same removal and replacement for the Answer.


--------------------------------------

No comments: