Tuesday, 29 September 2009

Gof Rules - 9 Tips on What You Can Do

I am going to keep this blog very simple; 9 short tips on what the Rules permit you to do. Check them out; there might be something new for you.

Under the Rules of Golf you may;
  1. Have a flagstick attended even when your ball is in a bunker, or on the apron of the green - Rule 17-1.
  2. Look into someone’s golf bag to identify which club they are using for their stroke - Decision 8-1/10.
  3. Use the back, or the toe, of the clubhead to strike the ball - Decision 14-1/1.
  4. Ask anyone the distance from any point A to any point B - Information on distance is not advice, Definition of Advice.
  5. Ground your club on a bridge situated in a water hazard - Decision 13-4/30.
  6. Lay a club, or clubs, in a bunker before you make a stroke at your ball lying in that bunker - Exception 1(b) to Rule 13-4.
  7. Wrap a towel or handkerchief around the grip to assist in gripping your club on a wet day - Rule 14-3c.
  8. Replace your ball where it was, under penalty of one stroke, when you have just putted past the hole and into a bunker - Rule 28a.
  9. Use the toe of your putter to mark your ball – Decision 20-1/16.
I was going to follow this list with 9 things that you can’t do. But I don’t want to confuse, so I will leave this for a few days until my next blog.

Good golfing

Barry Rhodes

Have you got your copy of my book, ‘999 Questions on the Rules of Golf’? If you haven’t, I think that it will help you understand and remember the Rules; if you have, why not purchase another one as a gift for a golfing friend or relative?

3 comments:

Vince Spence said...

Thanks, Barry...

Is decision 13-4/30 relatively new? I always thought the bridge is considered part of the hazard.

This is why on a scale of 1-10, you are 10, and I am 7, maybe...!!!

I am looking at your book as I write this and love skipping around to find out the rules I would get wrong. I am glad I bought it. Great investment...

There is an old saying, "You don't know what you don't know".

Barry Rhodes said...

Vince,

First, thanks for your comments on my book. I am delighted to say that everyone who has commented to me on it have said that it is helping them understand the Rules better.

To answer your question, Decision 13-4/30 has been in the Rules for many years. Here is the Decision in full, which provides the two logical reasons why it is permitted;
"Q. A player's ball lies on a bridge over a water hazard within the margins of the hazard when extended upward. May the player ground his club?

A. Yes. A bridge is an obstruction. In a hazard, the club may touch an obstruction at address or in the backward movement for the stroke — see Note under Rule 13-4. Touching the bridge prior to address is also permissible, since an obstruction in a water hazard is not "ground in the hazard."

This applies even if the bridge has been declared an integral part of the course."

Barry

Vince Spence said...

Thank you.

We have a neat stone bridge fully in the hazard and I have had occasion to be in the hazard with the bridge (obstruction) affecting my backswing. I knew I was not entitled to relief and I guess I equated a ball on the bridge in a similar way. Thanks for the clarification.