Friday, 10 December 2010

Hold on to Your Putter!

Mike Clayton is an Australian golfer who had seven wins as a Tour professional. However, undoubtedly he will be mostly remembered for a bizarre Rules incident, which was later featured in the R&A’s 2001 video, ‘Golf: Know the Rules’. I apologise to him in advance for resurrecting something that he no doubt wants to forget, but it is a clip that I think will amuse you, is appropriate for the approaching holiday season and it does contain a serious Rules message. I recommend that you open this short video clip.


If you are receiving this blog by email from FeedBurner
click here to view the video.

So, what is the appropriate ruling for throwing your club at your ball in frustration? Well, here is a Q&A based on this incident taken directly from my book, ‘999 Questions on the Rules of Golf’;
Q.537: After missing a short putt Mark throws his club in the air in frustration. Unfortunately, he doesn’t catch it cleanly on the way down and it falls onto his ball, moving it away from the hole. What is the ruling?
Answer: Mark is penalised one stroke for moving his ball in play and must replace his ball. Rule 18-2a.
Note: If equipment of the player or his partner causes the ball to move the player incurs a penalty of one stroke and the ball must be replaced.
If the ball had still been moving when the player’s club hit it there would still be a one stroke penalty, but when this happens the relevant Rule is 19-2, which requires the ball to be played from where it comes to rest. This ruling is confirmed in Decision 14/6, which ironically, also rules that if a player instinctively throws his putter towards their ball, but misses, there is no penalty, as their action does not count as a stroke and their ball was not moved.

Fortunately, Mike Clayton did not incur an additional penalty when the ball went on to hit his arm while he was lying prone on the ground. Decision 1-4/12 confirms that when a single act results in one Rule being breached more than once the player only incurs a single penalty.

Of course, Mike Clayton’s biggest penalty was that he will never be allowed to forget this amusing (for us) golfing incident.

Have you checked out my Christmas video? If not, please click here. It’s not too late to get my book as a very acceptable Christmas present for any golfing friend or family member. Order now and I will rush it to you.

Very best wishes,

Barry

Barry Rhodes

Author of ‘999 Questions on the Rules of Golf’

No comments: