Saturday, 28 May 2011

Andres Gonzales Calls Penalty on Himself - Rules Official Disagrees

Andres Gonzales - Photo Titleist
Because I am going on vacation today I am taking a short-cut over a very interesting ruling that occurred during the first round of the Byron Nelson Championship on Thursday, involving bearded rookie, Andres Gonzales. I am a regular reader of golf blogger and journalist, Stepahnie Wie, who previously played competitive golf in the US junior and college circuits, and she has covered this unusual incident so competently that I am just going to point you to her two blogs on the subject. The most unusual aspect of this ruling is that the walking Rules Official overuled the player, who was about to penalise himself.

Check out the video entry first. Click here.
 

Now read the explanation as to why no penalty was incurred. Click here.

Good golfing,




I have two, free subscription lists containing information on the Rules of Golf;
1.    You can receive these weekly blogs in your email by subscribing your name and email address in the box at the top right hand corner of my home page.
2.    ‘Rhodes Rules School’ is a series of weekly emails where I use photographs with questions and answers to illustrate rulings regularly encountered by golfers on the course

If you are not subscribed to either of these lists I strongly recommend that you do so now, as it is a great way to get to understand the Rules better. There is absolutely no charge and it is easy to unsubscribe at any time. I do not share your contact details with anyone else.
Click here to subscribe to my blog.
Click here to join ‘Rhodes Rules School’.

1 comment:

rental mobil jakarta said...

Very nice, thanks for the information.