Wednesday, 14 August 2013

Provisional Ball - Video















I have written several blogs with information on playing a provisional ball including these three;
However, a few weeks ago I received a request from a large group of lady golfers to produce one of my short, instructional videos on the subject of playing a provisional ball, which I have now completed. You can view the video on my www.RhodesRulesSchool.com web site at this link (scroll down through the other four instructional videos).

Here are the five summary points from my new video;
  1. A provisional ball may only be played if the original ball may be out of bounds or lost outside of a water hazard. It may not be played for a ball that is known or virtually certain to be in a water hazard.
  2. A player must inform their fellow competitor, marker, or opponent of their intention to play a provisional ball.
  3. A provisional ball must be played before the player or their partner go forward to search for the original ball.
  4. A player does not have to search for their original ball but their provisional ball cannot be played if their original ball has been found in bounds within 5 minutes of search beginning for it.
  5. A provisional ball remains provisional until it has been played from the place where the original ball is likely to be, or from a point nearer the hole than that place.
Ball embedded in lip of bunker (or not?).
Photo: SB Nation














A ruling made by Chief European Tour Referee, John Paramor, on the final day of the PGA Championship at Oak Hill last Sunday provided some clarification to an ongoing debate amongst Rules enthusiasts, as to whether a ball is embedded in a bunker or through the green. I have previously referred to this subject in my blogs, ‘Big Break – Ball Embedded in Face of Bunker Controversy’ and more recently, ‘Doubt as to a Ruling in Stroke Play’.

In this most recent example, Matt Kuchar was permitted a free drop when his second stroke from a bunker became embedded. John Paramor ruled that the ball was not in the bunker but lay through the green, presumably because it was embedded in the roots of the grass covering the bunker. Kuchar was able to drop his ball outside the bunker without penalty, as there was a Condition of Competition operating permitting relief for a ball embedded through the green  You can view the incident at this link, but don’t pay too much attention to the text as, contrary to the accompanying report, the analysis of the triple bogey seven that Kuchar scored on the 2nd hole does not include any penalty.

Good golfing,




The above content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes © 2013 and may not be copied without permission.

Note: The subjects of my other four videos are; Taking Relief from a Water Hazard and a Lateral Water Hazard, Ball Unplayable and Nearest Point of Relief. They can be viewed on YouTube, or by clicking on this link.


No comments: