Tuesday, 7 October 2014

When a Stroke May or Must be Replayed

I have been asked to list those occasions when the Rules permit a player to choose whether they may replay a stroke and when it is mandatory for them to do so. I accept that a list like this is not easy reading, but I hope that it will provide a useful resource for interested Rules enthusiasts.
  • Ball breaks into pieces following a stroke.
The player must replay the stroke without penalty.
Rule 5-3. 

  • Playing out of turn in match play.
The opponent may cancel the player’s stroke and require them to play again in the correct order.
Rule 10-1c.

  • Playing from outside the teeing ground in match play.
If a player plays a ball from outside the teeing ground in match play, there is no penalty, but the opponent may immediately require the player to cancel the stroke and play a ball from within the teeing ground.
Rule 11-4a.

  • Ball replaced on putting green while another ball is in motion.
If the ball of the player who had putted was intentionally deflected by the replaced ball they must replay the stroke.
Decision 16-1b/3.

  • Player attends a flagstick without authorisation while a putt is being made from the putting green and the ball hits the flagstick, the person holding it, or anything carried by them.
In stroke play, in these circumstances, the player making the putt incurs no penalty, the stroke is cancelled and the ball must be replaced and replayed.
Note to Penalty Statement under Rule 17-2.

  • Opponent or fellow-competitor attending a flagstick fails to remove it.
If the player attending the flagstick intentionally permits a ball in motion from a stroke to hit it they may be disqualified for a serious breach. In any case, the stroke must be replayed without penalty.
Decision 17-3/2.

  • Ball in motion after a stroke from the putting green deflected or stopped by an outside agency.
If a player’s ball in motion after a stroke on the putting green is either purposely or accidentally deflected or stopped by an outside agency the stroke is cancelled and the ball must be replaced and replayed.
Rule 19-1b and Note to Rule 19-1.

  • Ball accidentally deflected or stopped by an opponent, their caddie or their equipment.
In match play, if a player’s ball is accidentally deflected or stopped by an opponent, his caddie or his equipment, there is no penalty. The player may, before another stroke is made by either side, cancel the stroke and play a ball, without penalty, as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played or they may play the ball as it lies.
Rule 19-3 (also see Decision 19-3/1).

  • Ball in motion after a stroke from the putting green deflected or stopped by another ball in motion.
If a player’s ball in motion after a stroke on the putting green is deflected or stopped by another ball in motion after a stroke, the player’s stroke is cancelled and the ball must be replaced and replayed, without penalty.
Rule 19-5b.

  • Ball played out of turn in foursomes
If a player in foursomes (alternate shot) makes a stroke when it was their partner’s turn to play, the side is penalised two strokes, they must cancel the stroke(s) and correct the error by playing in the correct order.
Rule 29-3.

  • A Local Rule requires that a stroke may or must be replayed.
A Committee may make and publish Local Rules for local abnormal conditions in which a stroke must be cancelled and played again. A common example of this is when a ball strikes an elevated power line. (Edited with a correction 23rd September 2015).


Alfred Dunhill Links Championship

Englishman, Oliver Wilson, was the extremely popular winner of last week’s Dunhill Championship. Having played in the 2008 Ryder, he lost his European tour card in 2011 and had fallen to a ranking of 792 in the world, relying on a sponsor’s invitation to play in the event. This was his first win on tour, although he had been runner-up nine times. Well done Oliver, it is great to see perseverance paying off.

I am only aware of one Rules incident during the Dunhill Championship that happened during the final round. Another English professional, Chris Wood, was joint leader when he was informed early in his round that had been assessed a penalty of two strokes for moving sand off the fringe during his play of the first hole. All golfers should be aware that sand and loose soil are loose impediments on the putting green, but not elsewhere. Note that it is not just sand, but loose soil as well; so when you are moving a number of loose impediments from bare earth, you should do so by picking them off the ground, because if you use a brushing action to remove them, you are almost certain to move loose soil at the same time, incurring a general penalty.

Good golfing,






 


If you are not receiving my weekly blogs by email please enter your address in the ‘Subscribe via email’ box at the top right of this web page.

The above content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes © 2014 and may not be copied without permission.

10 comments:

Stu Brown said...

Barry- great website !

A question for you- a ball is plugged - a through the green b) in the rough.

what is the ruling- can you lift,clean and replace by dropping-or roll out??

cheers

Barry Rhodes said...

Stu,

I covered this subject in my blog dated 28th December 2010. Unfortunately, I cannot hyperlink this page, http://www.barryrhodes.com/2010/12/embedded-ball-rule-25-2.html,
but if you enter "embedded ball" in the 'Search This Blog" box in the top right corner it will lead you to the correct page.

The quick answers to your questions, providing there is no Local Rule in place are a) No, b) No, but I suspect in a) you did not mean 'through the green', which includes the rough. Under Rule 25-2 relief for an embedded ball is only available when the ball is plugged in a closely mown area.

Barry

Stuart J said...

Hi Barry

I was wondering if you could clear up a little rules discussion regarding this very subject.

If a player makes a stroke on the putting green and the ball is deflected while in motion by a large leaf which is blown across the green, should the stroke be cancelled and replayed, or should it be played as it lies?

19-1b states:

"If a player’s ball in motion after a stroke on the putting green is deflected or stopped by, or comes to rest in or on, any moving or animate outside agency, except a worm, insect or the like, the stroke is canceled. The ball must be replaced and replayed."

Does "any moving or animate outside agency" mean that the outside agency must be alive (moving or animate) or just in motion (moving)?

If it is the latter then decision 18-1/6 seems to indicate that a natural loose impediment (in this case a tumbleweed) is classed as an outside agency when in motion, so the leaf would therefore be classed as a moving outside agency and so the stroke would be cancelled and replayed?

Thanks

Stu

Barry Rhodes said...

Stu,

I have received several comments about this, since a commentator mentioned it on TV and I have written a blog on it, which I will post tomorrow (Nov 4th).

The quick answer is that he was correct (Rule 19-1b), but it only applies if the ball is visibly deflected from its path by the leaf in motion, which would be highly unusual.

Barry

Anonymous said...

Barry please clarify.
Greenkeepers coring are made up of sand and soil.
Are they classed as loose impediment and if so up until what stage of the breakdown.
Tom C
Perth Australia

Barry Rhodes said...

Tom,

Sand and loose soil are loose impediments on the putting green, where hollow tines are most likely to be encountered. Elsewhere, it is a question of fact; if they are packed together in a plug they are loose impediments, which may be removed, but any loose soil from a plug must not be moved.

Barry

Anonymous said...

Barry,

Following on loose impediments, is it a rule of golf that allows you to mark your ball and check if you are sitting in such an aerated hole and return it to that position if not in a hole or is this something for the local rules board.

Tom
Perth Australia

Barry Rhodes said...

Tom,

The Rules require that a ball that has been marked is replaced exactly where it was. So, if it came to rest in an aeration hole it must be replaced in that hole, unless there is a temporary Local Rule that permits otherwise.

Barry

LUU5 said...

Regarding following:

A Local Rule requires that a stroke may or must be replayed.
A Committee may make and publish Local Rules for local abnormal conditions in which a stroke may or must be cancelled and played again. A common example of this is when a ball strikes an elevated power line.

Decision 33-8/13 seems to prohibit "may replay" type of local rule, at least regarding hitting the power lines.

Barry Rhodes said...

LUU5,

You are quite correct and I have now made the correction.

Thank you for taking the time to advise me of my error.

Barry