- “Player 1 chips his ball from off the green and leaves his ball in the cup. Player 2 then chips and his ball goes in the hole. Is there a penalty and if so what is it?”
- “After holing out, a player smoothes the ragged edge of the hole with his hand. Do they incur a penalty if a fellow-competitor or partner has not yet holed out?”
- “If there is an old plug hole on my line of putt on the putting green, which has an artificial cover (e.g. plastic or synthetic grass), may I take relief without penalty?”
If the ball lies on the putting green, the player must lift the ball and place it, without penalty, at the nearest point of relief that is not in a hazard. The nearest point of relief may be off the putting green.
- “Must the hole be positioned at least four paces from any edge of the putting green?”
- “A friend hit his ball onto the green and it landed just outside some GUR marked on the green. He wanted to putt the ball but his line of putt was going through the GUR so he asked for relief, which I would not give him because I said he could chip his ball over the GUR, was I right or wrong?”
If the ball lies on the putting green, the player must lift the ball and place it, without penalty, at the nearest point of relief that is not in a hazard or, if complete relief is impossible, at the nearest position to where it lay that affords maximum available relief from the condition, but not nearer the hole and not in a hazard. The nearest point of relief or maximum available relief may be off the putting green.However, there is no line of play relief from an abnormal ground condition on the putting green if the player's ball lies off the putting green.
If you have any questions on the Rules of Golf, please search my blog site before emailing me. There are over six years of weekly blogs covering most common questions on the Rules and the 'Search This Blog' facility works well.
The above content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes © 2015 and may not be copied without permission.