Tuesday, 3 March 2015

The Octopus - Rule 20

Diagram from www.randa.org Quick Guide to the Rules
A reader has drawn my attention to the fact that one of the modules on the R&A Level 2 Rules School is titled, ‘The Octopus – Rule 20’. I had not heard this expression used in connection with Rule 20 before, but the reason is fairly obvious; an octopus has 8 tentacles and Rule 20 cover the 8 circumstances under which a ball that has been dropped must be re-dropped, because it did not come to rest in a place permitted by the Rules. But, I hear some of you say, there are only seven circumstances listed (numbered (i) to (vii)) as to why a dropped ball must be re-dropped. I have not attended this particular Rules course, but from the R&A Rules diagram above it seems that they are counting the (vii)(a) and (vii)(b) as two separate reasons. But, see my comment relating to this at the end of the blog.

Here are the seven (eight?) instances when a dropped ball must be re-dropped under Rule 20-2c;

A dropped ball must be re-dropped, without penalty, if it:
(i) rolls into and comes to rest in a hazard;
(ii) rolls out of and comes to rest outside a hazard;
(iii) rolls onto and comes to rest on a putting green;
(iv) rolls and comes to rest out of bounds;
(v) rolls to and comes to rest in a position where there is interference by the condition from which relief was taken under Rule 24-2b (immovable obstruction), Rule 25-1 (abnormal ground conditions), Rule 25-3 (wrong putting green) or a Local Rule (Rule 33-8a), or rolls back into the pitch-mark from which it was lifted under Rule 25-2 (embedded ball);
(vi) rolls and comes to rest more than two club-lengths from where it first struck a part of the course; or
(vii) rolls and comes to rest nearer the hole than:
(a) its original position or estimated position (see Rule 20-2b) unless otherwise permitted by the Rules; or
(b) the nearest point of relief or maximum available relief (Rule 24-2, 25-1 or 25-3); or
(c) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or lateral water hazard (Rule 26-1).
So, the R&A Rules diagram seems to imply that the above are the eight reasons when a dropped ball must be re-dropped. However, this means that there are actually nine situations in total, as Rule 20-2a states;
If the ball, when dropped, touches any person or the equipment of any player before or after it strikes a part of the course and before it comes to rest, the ball must be re-dropped, without penalty.
In which case this ‘Octopus’ has nine tentacles! 

(Edit 4th March 2015: Several readers have suggested that there are 10, or even 11 reasons why a ball must be dropped under Rule 20. However, I now think that my guess as to why it is called the 'Octopus' Rule is off track. Here is another explanation; 
"I think the reference applies more to the various Rules on which Rule 20 impinges rather than the occasions on which a ball may be re-dropped. Rule 20 tentacles stretches out to affect many of the other Rules and that is my understanding of the reference to the 'Octopus' "
In any case, I hope that you will agree that it was an interesting subject for a blog.)

Good golfing,


 

Thinking about singles or team match play competitions? Make sure that you and/or your team know what the differences are in the Rules for match play golf. Click on this link for details: 'So You Are Going to Play Match Play'.
The above content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes © 2015 and may not be copied without permission.

2 comments:

iki jimmy said...

barry,
can you clarify the part here 20-2c;V.
if im taking swing relief from an internal safety screen (immovable obstruction) and my nearest point of relief from THAT obstruction ends up with my swing interfered with by another immovable -- in this case the bricks of the tee box behind does this apply, or is it about taking complete relief from the one specific condition at a time, not all conditions of that type?
sorry i hate being wrong and this came up the other day, i worked on the basis that each drop is a new one once you have relief from the specific condition at hand
thanks

grant

Barry Rhodes said...

Grant,

You must take relief from the first IO interference and then, if another IO interferes, you must take relief from that. Part of the wording of Rule 20-2c(v)states;

... rolls to and comes to rest in a position where there is interference by the condition from which relief was taken under Rule 24-2b...

So a re-drop is only taken if the original IO still interferes, otherwise the new NPR from the second IO must be determined and new relief may then be taken from that.

Barry