Tuesday, 24 July 2018

Accidentally Moving Ball (-Marker) on the Putting Green

An absorbing 2018 Open Championship at Carnoustie, Scotland, was relatively Rules incident free, but there was one ruling that may be of interest to readers, not because it played any part in the ups and downs of the player concerned, but because of the changes in the relevant Rule over a 4-year period.

As he was sizing up his putt on the 18th hole of his second round at the 147th Open, Erik van Rooyen dropped his putter on his ball-marker, but he did not know whether it had moved off its spot, or not. I am going to assume that the ball-marker was moved, albeit marginally, to explain the various rulings relating to this simple incident over a short period.

Pre – 2017:  
The penalty for a player causing their ball or ball-marker to move on the putting green, whether accidentally or purposely, was the same as for anywhere else on the course; a penalty of one stroke and the ball had to be replaced under Rule 18-2. An exception to this was if the movement occurred as a result of the specific act of marking the position of or lifting the ball (Rule 20-1).

From 1st January 2017, provided the recommended Local Rule had been introduced:
The R&A and the USGA introduced a new Local Rule to the Rules of Golf that eliminated any penalty when a ball or ball-marker was accidentally moved on the putting green. This Local Rule was adopted by the R&A and the USGA in all of their championships, qualifying competitions and international matches and they recommended that all Committees adopt the Local Rule, although it was not compulsory to do so, as it was not a Rule of Golf.

From 1st January 2017, if the recommended Local Rule had not been introduced:
The ruling would be the same as pre-2017, with a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2.

From 1st January 2019:
Under the new, modernised Rules of Golf the action incurs no penalty and no Local Rule is necessary;

Rule 13.1d. When Ball or Ball-Marker Moves on Putting Green
There are two specific Rules for a ball or ball-marker that moves on the putting green.
(1) No Penalty for Accidentally Causing Ball to Move. There is no penalty if the player, opponent or another player in stroke play accidentally moves the player’s ball or ball-marker on the putting green.
The player must:
• Replace the ball on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated) (see Rule 14.2), or
• Place a ball-marker to mark that original spot.

Erik van Rooyen led the 2108 Open Championship at one stage, but finished tied in 17th place on 2 under par. The circumstance of the incident can be viewed at this Golf Channel link. (Edit 25th July 2018: Unfortunately this video was removed today. You can hear EvR talking about the incident at this link.)

Probably the most (in)famous incident of a Pro golfer getting a penalty for accidentally moving his ball on the putting green was during the 1997 Australian PGA Championship at New South Wales Golf Club, when former Australian Pro golfer, Mike Clayton, twirled his putter in the air in frustration at missing a putt. You can view his golfing embarrassment by clicking on this YouTube link

Good golfing,



Nearly There! I hope to be in a position to deliver my eBook, ‘666 Questions on the NEW Rules of Golf 2019” within the next couple of weeks. You can be one of the first to start absorbing the new Rules in the easiest way possible by adding your name to my growing pre-order list. Just email me at rules@barryrhodes.com. The target price is $12.99.

The above content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes © 2018 and may not be copied without permission.

No comments: